Patient Testimonials

I started my journey with Dr. Mailapur and his team 2 years ago. I was miserable! I was 33 years old and had packed on 265 lbs to my small 5’ 1” frame. I needed a change, a chance a tool to work with. Dr. Mailapur and his team helped me with all of that. I went to a seminar still skeptical that this would work for me even though I have family that’s had this type of surgery and done well. He and his team gave me the information and guidance to make the change in my eating habits during my 6 months of insurance required diet monitoring with my family physician. At the end of that period I felt like I was ready for the chance to better myself, for myself and my family. I have two young kids that I couldn’t physically do anything with because I was so overweight. The 19th of December we laid my Grandaddy to rest and I was a wreck, then I got the call that afternoon that my surgery was approved and I was getting my chance. The day after Christmas 2018 Dr. Mailapur provided me with the tool that has changed my life. I had the VGS procedure done. I’ve not had any complications! He and his team have been wonderful and supportive every step of the way. I started this journey at 265 lbs. Now, 18 months after surgery I have lost OVER HALF OF ME! Down to 129 lbs (as of today). I feel amazing! I get out and walk almost every day just because I enjoy it now. I don’t hurt everyday after work from carrying the weight of an extra person. I thank God for Dr. Mailapur and his team!

5/5

Ashley Wagner

Bariatric vertical sleeve. April 22,2019. I lost 93bs. I had started from 276 lbs and now down to 182 lbs. No more medicine and cpap machine. I love my new body and the cloths that I can get into, “much smaller”. Thank you again Dr. Mailapur and his staff!

5/5

Raymond Kidd

I am fifty-eight years old. I had gastric sleeve surgery nine months ago. I have lost over 80 pounds! I was on numerous asthma meds. I no longer suffer with Asthma! I feel better than I have felt in over 20 years!! We recently spent seven days in Disney World with our children and grandkids celebrating our 40th Anniversary. I walked every step of the way! It was a wonderful feeling to know that I could keep up with my children and grandchildren. This was one of the best decisions I have ever made!!!!!

5/5

Rosalyn Pressnell

Dr. Mailapur helped me save my life! I had looked into surgery before but always felt as if I was just the next paycheck. A friend gave me his number and told me to just give him a chance. When I went in for my first visit I could tell right away he wasn’t doing this for anyone but me. He made it very clear if my brain and heart wasn’t in it then I should wait. He encouraged me through the approval process sometimes even scared me a little that he might cancel because I didn’t want it bad enough. I was finally able to get through the approval process and knew Dr. M truly cared about me and my health! I’m now 2 years out and met my goal without any complications. He is still supporting me and cheering me on as my mind is a battle field daily and keeping my body healthy is what I’m built for. He is such an encouraging and caring doctor. Thank you for all the support in my 2 year journey and many many many more to come. I’m down 130 pounds and happier than I’ve ever been. Thank You Dr. M

For anyone worried STOP just DO IT my only regret was waiting so long!

5/5

Brittanee Johnson

Dont Even know where to start. But 1st and foremost I want to Thank Dr: Mailpur and his amazing Staff for Changing My life. My journey has been amazing I am 3 months Post OP and feel like a new person. My life is forever changed. Dr: Mailapur is not only a great Surgeon but a great person as well he cares for the well being and health of his patients. This surgery is successful if you comply and follow exactly what Dr: Mailpur asks you to do. I havent felt this good In Years.

Thanks Again Dr: Mailpur and Staff. YOU ROCK!!

5/5

Leah Boss

I am 65 years old so it’s never too late to make life changes! I am 9 months out and I cannot tell you the difference this surgery has made in my life. I had high BP; was pre-diabetic; had continual pain in my back; and, in general, was miserable about the way I looked and the prospect I had for the future. I am now in the average weight range for my height (5’3″) and have come off all medications and feel like a million bucks. I love Dr. M and his staff. They are like family to me now. His encouragement was the key but he also completely puts this “tool” in my hands to use. It’s not an easy road to go down initially but each day/week gets easier and easier. I have never looked back and look forward to many more years of a healthy lifestyle.

5/5

Marcia Crouch

I was sleeved on May 29, 2019. It was one of the best decisions I have ever made! I feel so much better already. Seeing the weight melt away has given me the motivation to make the life style changes I didn’t make before. Thank you Dr Mailapur and all of his staff for giving me the tool to create a better life.

5/5

Devon Smith

Saw Dr. Mailapur for my 9 year check up today. It is very important that you go for your yearly check up! I have successfully kept off over 100 lbs. for over 9 years now. I went from a size 22 to a size 10. It is rough in the beginning but worth it in the long run!

I have been considering weight loss surgery for 2yrs now. I decided to do my research and I did. I have hypertension, sleep apnea and on the borderline of being a dietbetic. One year ago I decided to attend Dr.Mailapurs siminar and it was encouraging, his staff was very knowledgeable about everything.After completing all of the prerequisites that Dr.Mailapur required , I was ready for surgery. During this time his staff kept in contact with me and made the entire process that much easier.One week before my surgery date which was August 19, 2019 I met with his nurse,PA,and Dr.Mailipur himself as they all made me feel calm and relaxed as they listen to any questions or concerns that I may have.Dr.Mailipur told me that he would take great care of me. On my Surgery date we talked and he ensured me that once again he would take care of me and promised to give me a tool to succeed. Dr.Mailipur did his part as promised and now I have to fulfill my end of this deal as I will. Dr. Mailapur and his staff are elite well educated and dedicated into helping people change there lives and I would like to say THANK YOU!

5/5

Donna

In April of 2018 I was at my nieces birthday party, later on that day when all the pictures had been uploaded there was a candid of me sitting in the floor, looking like a COW! and not even a cute cow! It was then I knew I had to do something. I was at my highest weight of 274lbs at 26 years old.. I was miserable and unable to do a lot of things with my daughter because I was just always too give out. I wanted to be better for her and myself. A coworker of mine had just hit her 1 year mark from surgery and looked amazing! So I started getting info from her. In May my best friend and I (who has also always struggled with her weight) went for our initial consultation. We started the program that day and by August we were getting our surgery. It wasn’t easy at first but I found what worked for me and have done amazing since then. I hit my goal weight at 8 months post op and just celebrated my 1 year! I’m 10lbs under my goal weight and I’ve never felt better! I no longer eat just for pleasure, out of boredom, or to fill a void! I simply eat to survive. I’ve found other ways to cope with sadness or stress besides eating. I have my life back and can enjoy being with my daughter. Ihave a whole new mindset and it’s all thanks to Dr. M and his amazing staff! 133# down and never looking back!

I have been considering weight loss surgery for 2yrs now. I decided to do my research and I did. I have hypertension, sleep apnea and on the borderline of being a dietbetic. One year ago I decided to attend Dr.Mailapurs siminar and it was encouraging, his staff was very knowledgeable about everything.After completing all of the prerequisites that Dr.Mailapur required , I was ready for surgery. During this time his staff kept in contact with me and made the entire process that much easier.One week before my surgery date which was August 19, 2019 I met with his nurse,PA,and Dr.Mailipur himself as they all made me feel calm and relaxed as they listen to any questions or concerns that I may have.Dr.Mailipur told me that he would take great care of me. On my Surgery date we talked and he ensured me that once again he would take care of me and promised to give me a tool to succeed. Dr.Mailipur did his part as promised and now I have to fulfill my end of this deal as I will. Dr. Mailapur and his staff are elite well educated and dedicated into helping people change there lives and I would like to say THANK YOU!

5/5

Caitlin

In August 2018 I was sick and tired of being FAT, unhealthy, on 12 different medications for high blood pressure, fibromyalgia, GERD, pre diabetes, bladder leakage & not able to hardly walk around the block without huffing and puffing and hurting so bad!!!!! I literally couldn’t hardly take care of myself at 64 years old & I was up to 245 lbs. I had been overweight most all my life, just couldn’t seem to loose and keep the weight off for very long. I had also already had several knee replacement surgeries, bladder surgeries, all kinds of surgeries!!! All the doctors would say was loose the weight!!!!

I heard about a weight loss Seminar by Dr. Mailapur and decided to go and see what it was all about! It was mind blowing to me that I could do this, but I thought what do I have to loose? I knew I had to make the changes necessary to help improve my health.

It wasn’t an easy decision nor is it an easy process to get approved for the Vertical Gastric Sleeve surgery.

I went to my first appointment with Dr. Mailapur and he explained what all I would have to do before he would even consider surgery. So, I started his diet immediately and I lost 16 pounds before my next appointment.

I did everything he required of me and was finally approved. I had the Vertical Gastric Sleeve surgery on October 29,2019. I am now down a total of 95 pounds! I went from a size 18-20 plus size to now a size 4 jeans.( I didn’t wear a size 4 when I was 4!!!)

After 9 months pos 5 lbs. from my goal weight

5/5

Cheryl Riddle

I contemplated this surgery for a long time. When I finally got the nerve up to have it done I had my appointment and went to the nutrition class in July 2018. Then I chickened our. I finally got my nerve up and had it in April 2019. My daughter said not to let anyone but Dr Mailapur do the surgery. I really don’t know what I was so afraid of. Dr M and his staff go to great lengths to make sure you are educated and know what to expect so you can have complete success. I had my 3m check up yesterday and you are supposed to have lost 30-40% of your weight (I didn’t think I was doing very good) and I have lost 50% of my weight. Needless to say I’m still all smiles. I have not had any problems at all except for the fact I need to sit for about 20-30 minutes after I eat to let my food and stomach settle. I can cross my legs again and my husband can get his arms around me again. Boy does that feel good. Don’t hesitate. Do it. You can do it and be so proud. Thank you Dr M and staff for my tool and support.

5/5

Donna Lackey

I am not the type to jump at the chance to have surgery so I spent most of this process fearful of the worst outcome. But God placed me under Dr. Mailapur’s care. I am so thankful for it. He and his staff are serious about the task and outcome. They are straight forward about what you need to do in order to get to surgery day and what to do after. But they also care about your well being. I had my surgery in January and I have lost over 100 lbs so far. This was one of the best decisions I have ever made. Thank you!

5/5

Lisa

Almost 3 months post OP, and the news I received today is almost miraculous. Went to my endocrinologist today and my A1C was 6.1, this coming from someone who has seen it at 14+ within the last 3 years. For a diabetic, that is HUGE!

I have had zero sugar meds or any insulin of any kind since my sleeve surgery on 2/18/19. Going from 2 pills a day, 2 shots a day plus a shot at every meal to absolutely nothing, is truly amazing from someone who has been a diabetic for over 25 years.

My wife and I are going down this journey together (surgeries were 1 week apart). As of today I am 61lbs down, and over 26 inches lost. My wife over 50lbs down and both of us are doing great.

I told Dr. M at the seminar, in my opinion, that diabetes was the root of all evil and if the surgery would get rid of my diabetes, I was ready to do this. Today was just more reassurance that we made the right decision to have sleeve surgery.

Thank you Dr. Malipur and your staff for the life changing tool you have provided my family with. With this tool, there are no doubts in my mind, that our quality and quantity of life have increased exponentially! See you in 2 weeks for our 3 month appointment. May God Bless you and your entire staff!

5/5

Shane Harris

Having the gastric sleeve surgery was a life changing choice. Today is my “healthy-anniversary”. I’m more active, exercise regularly, enjoy more life events, and have a type of confidence I never had before. It’s hard work. Dr Mailipur and his team is there to support you the entire way and help you make the decisions that are necessary to maintain a healthy life.

5/5

Sherry

My surgery date was June 6th, 2018. I waited before posting to see how everything went. I can tell you I could not be happier! I have lost 100 lbs so far and feel great! Dr. Mailapur is the best doctor ever and is very good at what he does. His whole team is great and has been very helpful throughout. I would do it again tomorrow if I had to but I don’t!!!

5/5

Marshall Smith

Surgery was 2/27/19. Felt very well prepared due to the teaching by Dr. Mailapur’s staff. I learned so much about changing. I am not quite 2 months out and down 35 pounds. I have embraced a new lifestyle which includes exercise and a completely new outlook on food. I have zero regrets. I recommend Dr. Mailapur’s and staff…they have this whole process down to near perfection. Remember to do as you are taught and you will be successful too.

5/5

Michele

Surgery date was November 2018, Dr. Mailapur was amazing. I was a bit nervous about the process. His staff was exceptional. Very professional, timely and efficient with appointments and follow up. It has changed my life for the better. If you are considering a life change, consider Dr. Mailapur and his team. You won’t regret it.

5/5

Rita Wright

Dr. Mailapur and his staff have been nothing but amazing to me. I had the sleeve surgery on 12/19/18 and have had no complications. This is a wonderful tool which has helped me to lose 60% of my excess fat! He and his team have put together everything you need to get through each step before and after surgery which makes the whole process so much more simple!

My life has changed. This is the absolute best decision I have ever made regarding my health! Thanks Dr. Mailapur!

5/5

Elizabeth Broadway

I was sleeved on August 29, 2018. I have met Dr. M’s goal for weight loss at this time, but could have never done it without the tool that he created for me. Best decision that I have made for a better, healthier me!

5/5

Lana Nailor

I would like to say thanks to Dr. Mailapur and his staff. I had the sleeve surgery two years ago this coming July. It has been the best decision I have ever made. Thank you to a great doctor and staff for guiding me through the process and continuing to help me month by month to reach my goals. This is the best tool ever! I have my life back and I feel great!!!

5/5

Pamela Bowling

I had my surgery on 1/21/19 was the best decision I have ever made Dr Mailapur an staff are awesome. Was taking diabetic medication twice a day after a month from surgery I am off medication and A1c is normal.

5/5

Sharon Pulley

I went through the process and decided to have surgery in 2018. My sleeve surgery was done by Dr. Mailapur on March 13, 2018. When I decided to first go to the seminar I was totally unsure of myself and whether I would actually even consider having the surgery. The staff and Dr. Mailapur were so convincing, while also being realistic and honest that I decided to start the long process of weight loss through bariatric surgery. The day of that seminar I weighed 351 pounds. I suffered from adult onset diabetes, high blood pressure and high cholesterol. I was 32 years old and taking six daily medications for numerous issues. I have a beautiful young wife that I want to be around for and to spend the rest of a long life with. We decided as a team to go through the process of having this surgery to maybe help prolong my life. Today, as I write this I am currently one year out from walking into Huntsville Hospital and having a vertical sleeve gastrectomy. I have closely followed the guidelines set forth by Dr. Mailapur and his staff which I believe is key to success. Today, one year since surgery, I am less than half the man physically that I was then. I currently weigh 172 pounds and am off ALL medications. Do yourself the favor of doing this surgery and making the commitment needed to maintain results! I would not recommend any other place than Dr. Mailapur and his team. They truly care about their patients and it shows!

5/5

Jeff Tidwell

I felt like I had the best care possible from Dr. Mailapur and Huntsville Hospital. Post surgery i experienced little to no pain and was able to return to work within 4 weeks. The first two weeks are the hardest because you are on liquids but trust me it gets better .

5/5

patsy Jordan

I had my surgery on Jsn7,2019. Everything was great, started loosing weight immediately. I’m 3 weeks out and lost 30 lbs. would recommend it highly to anyone looking to loose weight. No regrets!!!

5/5

David Russell

I had my surgery on January 7th 2019 by Dr mailpur. Dr Mailpur did a great job with my surgery I had no scars that were very visible the surgery went well it was great he’s great at what he does I have lost 24 pounds in 2 weeks if I had to do it again and I had to recommend anyone to do it will be doctor Mailpur. staff is very professional I enjoy working with them Jessica does a great job with the insurance I recommend these guys to anyone thank you again doctor Mailpur.

5/5

Lenier Hammond

The office is very efficient and knowledgeable. Willing to answer all questions, and easy to work with on paperwork for time off work and insurance. Made the process effortless. Dr Malipur was wonderful every step of the way. Walked me through the process from day one and made all resources available. It has been a little over a month since surgery. All went well and feeling great!

5/5

Julia M. Kendrick

I had thought about gastric sleeve for a few years and kept thinking i will lose the weight on my own. Year after year I realized I was only harming myself as the weight was not coming off. After meeting Dr. Mailapur and his staff I knew what I had to do! 6 months out and I have gone from a size 22-24 down to size 10! I know i will lose more and I am thankful for the tool that Dr. Mailapur has given me. My only regret is not doing it sooner!

5/5

Leslie Keel

Dr. Mailapur has been great throughout the entire process. I was really nervous about having the sleeve surgery, but he and his staff did a great job of helping me understand the outcome and benefits of doing it. I wasn’t pressured at all, and I’m happy I did it. During the pre-op diet, I lost 17 lbs. Now I’m 31 days post-op and have lost another 31 lbs. for a total of 48 lbs.! My clothes fit better. My blood pressure is perfect. I don’t have sleep apnea nor acid reflux anymore. I’m a lot more confident. It was the best decision of my life!

5/5

Jake

Just do it! I’m amazed…and it hasn’t been remotely as difficult as I was expecting. Dr. Mailapur and his staff are awesome, especially since they tolerated me and my influx of questions with patience and understanding!

At 47, I looked back at the last 10 years and realized that I quit smoking BUT I gained 100 pounds. My back, knees and feet hurt, I had reflux, obstructive sleep apnea, high blood pressure, super high blood sugar…and my family doctor just wanted to add more medications to the growing list. No thanks!

I had gastric sleeve surgery Dec 17, 2018 and 16 days later I’m down “officially” 14 pounds. My shoes are too big now, my wedding ring is loose, and my pants hang on my hips already. That doesn’t include the weight I lost on the pre-op diet so altogether I’ve lost around 20 pounds and I’ve already stopped one of the meds. Yes, you have to change habits but for a better you. Yes, you have responsibilities but for a new you. Yes, Dr. Mailapur has expectations but it’s because he wants the BEST for you! I never once felt like just the next in line. He is genuinely vested in your health. Do it!

5/5

Kelly Forester

I have been so pleased with Dr. Mailipur and his staff during this process to better health. The seminars, support groups and day long training help to prepare you for what to expect and life after gastric sleeve surgery. Dr. Mailipur performed my surgery on 12/17 and I am feeling great! I am no longer taking my blood sugar medicine that I had been on for 13+ years. Thank you for helping me learn how to use this tool to become a healthier me!

5/5

Kelly Forester

Dr. Mailapur is most passionate about this ‘tool’ he provides us. He is genuinely concerned about my health and strives to provide the best service ever evidenced by his multi-prong approach to ensuring success. The counseling and classes are a huge part of enabling success of the surgery. My surgery was 10/22/18, I’m down 35 lbs and am feeling better every day. I’m very happy with my decision to have this surgery! His staff have been wonderful and answered all my questions/issues promptly. This choice has allowed me to begin a journey of better health which I could not do alone. Thank you Dr. Mailapur and staff!

5/5

Leesa

Dr. Mailapur and his staff have been wonderful throughout my gastric sleeve process. I had surgery 11/9/18, and I’m about five weeks post-op, having lost 40 lbs so far. From my very first visit, he was very interested in my journey to better health. His staff are very courteous and pleasant, and I am so very thankful that I chose him as my surgeon. They made sure I was well-informed about everything, including all of the different procedures, possible complications, all of the precautions to make sure my procedure would be the most beneficial to me, nutrition nutrition nutrition, plus much more important info. I highly recommend him to everyone who is considering weight-loss surgery.

5/5

Lisa Long

This is exactly what I needed to help me get back on a healthy eating track. I was sleeved on 11/9/18 and as of 12/18/18 I have lost 43 pounds and I feel great. I was able to walk up 3 flights of stairs without getting winded at all and I am working out and swimming again! I had no complications and am eating well and following the program as prescribed. I have had an excellent working relationship with Dr. M and his entire staff! They are very helpful and have made this process as stress free as possible for me. I would recommend Dr. Mailapur and his staff to everyone.

5/5

Amanda

I had the Gastric sleeve surgery on March 21, 2018. SO EXCITED!!! Today, December 10, 2018 I am down 66 pounds! Best decision of my life! Dr. Mailipur and his staff have been so helpful and kind. He is an amazing surgeon and I recommend him to everyone! The hospital was super clean and all nurses were so supportive and encouraging. If you are thinking of having this surgery….DO IT!

5/5

Julia A Richey

I had gastric sleeve surgery on 11/16/18. I had to go back within two weeks for my checkup. I was down 14 pounds. I truly believe this was one of the best decisions I could have made. Dr. Mailapur and his staff are awesome. I would highly recommend Dr. Mailapur to anyone considering this surgery. He cares and wants what’s best for his patients. I can’t wait to see down the road my outcome! ????

5/5

Regina

I had gastric sleeve surgery Nov.19, 2018, it has been life changing already. I feel better than I have in over 6 years. Dr. Mailaur is the best, and I am thankful he was my surgeon, he and his staff are awesome!!! At my 2 week check up, I have already lost 17 lbs. I am so excited for the future in my new life journey!!!!

5/5

Pearl Terry

I only have great words for Dr. Mailapur and his whole team. I felt very informed before and after surgery, he and his staff are so knowledgeable and make sure your needs are met. Also the Huntsville Hospital treated me very well and very professional.

I highly recommend Dr Mailapur a very kind man and a very knowledgeable surgeon, thank you to all involved in my care.

5/5

Fred Moore

In 2017 my weight had gotten to the point where it was interfering with my quality of life. So after a lifetime of trying to lose the weight on my own I started looking at medical options. In May 2018 I had gastric sleeve surgery and have never regretted it.

I am so thankful for Dr. Mailapur and the tool he gave me. Dr. Mailapur is very professional and sincerely cares about his patients. I am 6 months out now, and down 85 lbs. I feel healthier than I have ever felt in my life.

I would recommend Dr. Mailapur to anyone who was considering surgery.

5/5

Carla

I was sleeved 11-19-18. I’ve wanted weight loss surgery for years, but things never fell into place. I’m glad I was pointed to Dr. Mailapur by some friends who had used him. I am 15 days out and down 12 pounds. It gets easier every day. I am so thankful for such a caring, compassionate physician. You can tell he truly cares about his patients and their well being.

5/5

Marti

I started my journey January 2017 with the seminar. I was impressed with the seminar and especially impressed with Dr. Mailapur. Every visit that I had with Dr. M since the seminar, I grew to realize that he cared about me and wanted to see me healthy. He gave me the tool July 23, 2017 and I will never be able to thank him enough for this tool that he gave me. If you or anyone you know is thinking about gastric surgery, Dr. Mailapur is the best of the best.

HW – 345

SW – 305

After three months, I am down to 240.

5/5

Rich

My surgery was 9/10/2018. Dr.Mailapur and his office made my journey very easy. They are very informative, kind, and helped me along the way. Im only 5 weeks out but each day gets better and better. If your on the fence go for it. They will walk you through the whole process. I also might add Dr.Mailapur is an excellent surgeon. Thanks to him and all his staff!!!!! : )

5/5

Julie Taylor

My surgery was 9/17/18. As of 2 and a half weeks out I am down 25 lbs. I am very pleased with results so far. Everyone in the office and other personnel have been very friendly, helpful and informative. Dr . Mailapur has been extremely kind and very friendly and very knowledgeable in his field of practice. I would recommend this group to others.

5/5

Karen George

Doctor Mailapur is one of the most amazing, compassionate doctors I have ever met ! He really cares about all his patients, I truly recommend him if you are thinking about any surgery . The staff is unbelievably amazing. I thank Jessica for all her help. I do not regret having surgery! 

5/5

Angela Vinson

I was sleeved on August 29, 2018. There are local surgeons, within a 10 minute drive of me but, I chose to drive an hour to Dr. Mailapur. He was kind and patient with my many, many questions pre surgery. He chatted with my husband while I was in recovery and brought the conversation up at my 2 week follow up. He is so personable. He has cheered me on unlike any other doctor. I’m down 32 pounds (4weeks post-op) and can’t wait to see where Dr. Mailapur and his tool takes me in the future! I highly recommend Dr. Mailapur!

5/5

Lana Nailor

I had surgery on July 25, 2018. It was the best decision I have ever made. I am down 21lbs since surgery and 36 all together. I feel better than I have in years. Dr. Mailapur is an awesome doctor who truly cares about his patients and I would recommend him and his team to anyone who is thinking about weight loss surgery. I cannot wait to see where this journey leads me!

5/5

Meredith Campbell

This surgery was the best decision I made. I had surgery on August 13,2018, I feel great, I have struggled with my weight ALL my life & even struggled with making this decision & Thank God I followed through with it, with lots of prayer, I have lost 20lbs since surgery. Dr. Mailapur is an awesome doctor, he is honest & very caring of his patient, I love Him so much & know he is God sent

5/5

Evelyn Cross

If your looking for a Doctor for weight loss surgery ,then I recommend Dr. Mailapur and his team,with them leading the way it was the best decision I’ve ever made for my health and quality of life. Call them and ( START LIVING !)

5/5

John G

I am nearly 40 and I have struggled with my weight since I was a teenager. I tried many different diet and exercise plans throughout my adulthood. I was capable of losing weight on my own, but never capable of keeping off what I could lose for very long and always a few more pounds added on as well until the next diet began. I developed severe plantar fasciitis in my feet after trying to run my way to a healthier body. So I ended up weighing nearly 300 lbs with feet that could not endure sustained activity and I turned to Dr. Mailapur who had previously performed my gallbladder removal. I am 6 months out from the gastric sleeve procedure and I have lost over 90lbs from my surgery weight of 285 lbs. I weigh under 200 for the first time since high school and I feel great. I am very happy with the results and my new lifestyle. Yes you do have to change what you eat and how you eat, but it is so worth it. I can now exercise again. I can play with my kids again. And I am just enjoying life a lot more. Thanks Dr. Mailapur for this life changing experience.

5/5

Bill S.

This was the best decision of my life. I feel so alive now & my health is wonderful. I am not taking any medicines any more. Blood pressure is awesome. Thank you Dr. Mailapur for saving my life.

5/5

Janice Brandon

I can’t thank Dr. Mailapur enough for helping me gain a better quality of life. I feel so much better since my weight loss. I could not have done it without his help. I am 3 months post op and have had no issues at all. I would highly recommend him and his staff.

5/5

Sandy Bunch

I am 3 months out from sleeve gastrectomy and have lost 50 lbs since surgery. Dr. Mailapur and his team have been very helpful with every aspect of the surgery and post-op care. I have absolutely no regrets and cannot wait to reach my final goal!

5/5

Crystal

Mr. Mailapur did my surgery in December 2018 and at my 6 month check up I am down 80 lbs. I feel great and my energy level is incredible. Not one regret for doing this. Dr. Mailapur and staff takes great care of you. Dr.M has a passion to help people over come their weight loss issues and encourages you all along the journey. I would strongly recommend Dr. M to anyone and everyone.

5/5

Linda K Self

My experience with Dr. Mailapur has been absolutely fantastic. From the very start at the informational briefing, there was no pressure, but inviting, helpful information provision. For my journey, I spent a couple of months thinking about it and researching before making my decision. His office reached out to me to invite me to ask questions, but were only encouraging and not pushy.

Once I made a decision, the meetings, appointments and assessments provided me everything I needed. They were familiar with what I needed from my insurance, provided excellent data for my review, and ensured my questions were answered. The nutrition course was excellent at expressing the behavior modifications, concerns and dietary needs going forward.

Acquiring and executing my surgery itself was very easy. I was nervous, and they put me at ease. Everything was handled very well. I was very pleased with the care received by all of the staff, and Dr. Mailapur handled it with ease. I had very little pain (all things considering). Getting up and moving around worked very well in my recovery and moving out from the Hospital. Simply following the “rules” I was given I had no real issues. No significant pain or nausea, my incisions healed up nicely. Overall, from start to finish my experience has been one of the best I’ve had anywhere.

I have the tool. The Doc has done his job, now it’s my turn to succeed!

–Scott Marchek, PhD

5/5

Scott Marchek, PhD

I had my surgery in May of 2017. I was 300 lbs when I started my journey. I am over my 1 year mark, and have lost 152 lbs. Dr. Malipur has one of my biggest cheerleaders. I have had the best experience with him and his team. I was provided with all the information and support I have needed to help me have more success that I could have ever imagined.

5/5

Casie

I started my journey this past April was 2 years ago. I am now down 145lbs from my starting weight off 276 lbs. Can not Thank Dr.Mailapur enough. I would recommend Dr.M to everyone. I have meet my goel weight and as of today I only have to see Dr.M once a year. He shows how proud he is of his patients when they meet their goals and very supportive. Thank you Dr.Mailapur and his Staff for for everything you do. I would do it all over again if I had to. Just wish I had done it sooner.

5/5

Tammy Brown

Dr. Mailapur did my surgery on March 12, 2018. I’m down 52 pounds, and I couldn’t be happier. From the first informative seminar to my most recent 3 month post-op visit, the office staff has been efficient, willing to answer my questions, and help me with the paper work. I’ve had zero complications. My advice….follow his instructions and you can’t go wrong. I just wish I had made this decision 20 years earlier.

5/5

Suzy

Dr. Malipur and his staff have made this entire experience absolutely amazing. I had the vsg surgery and am 3w1d out and down 30lbs from my pre-op diet weight. My recovery and healing has gone better than I could have ever expected. Dr. Malipur is very thorough and patient. Its very obvious that he genuinely enjoys helping people get their lives back.

5/5

Nicole Duke

Cannot recommend Dr. Mailapur and his team highly enough. I am only 10 weeks post-op and down a total of 75 lbs since my initial consultation with Dr. Mailapur (52 since surgery). Everything he and his staff projected or promised has been 100% accurate and true. I have been treated with dignity and respect by all involved. I was fortunate to have landed in another doctor’s care initially (finger’s doing the walking in the yellow pages). Without that experience, I would not be able to state just how much more of a confident and pleasurable experience it has been to work with Dr. Mailapur’s team. I was treated indifferently by the other team and made to feel like it was their way (or the highway) if I wanted the surgery. Dr. Mailapur made it clear from the beginning that it was my life and health at issue and appropriately informed and advised me on the best options to achieve my goals. By the way, when comparing doctors, check their statistics out, as well. The national fatality average for this type surgery is somewhere close to 1/100, or 1%. Dr. Mailapur has completed well over 4000 of these procedures without losing a single patient. I’ll take his 0% failure rate, kind personality, and professional team any day of the week. If you find yourself unsure which direction to pursue, or which doctor to place your trust (and your life) in, attend one of Dr. Mailapur’s seminars. You will be more than happy that you did.

5/5

Dave Treshansky

After years of weight loss attempts through fad diets and medication, my GP suggested surgery as a tool to lower my weight to a manageable level. He would not recommend anyone other than Dr. Mailapur to perform my procedure. Now I know why. It has been almost a year since I had my sleeve. I started at 332 pounds with a 56 inch waist and am down to 207 with a 33 inch waist. On 05/05/2018 I placed 2nd overall in a 26.3 mile trail challenge for Make-A-Wish Alabama. A year ago I could barely get our of my chair without strain. To say that this has been the best decision of my life would be an understatement. It has changed everything about my life. Dr. Mailipur and his staff are encouraging, supportive, and some of my biggest cheerleaders.

5/5

Reggie Bell

My decision for a gastric sleeve came at the end of 2017, after fighting the roller-coaster weight loss ride for 30 years. After the free seminar, I was convinced Dr. Mailapur was the doctor for me. Throughout the process, culminating with the April 16, 2018 surgery, and during the post-op care, he has been extremely honest, open, considerate and very informative. His staff- both in his office and in the operating room, have been beyond excellent. Never have I felt embarrassed, ashamed, or insecure about the procedure, nor did I ever doubt it’s results. It’s hard work for sure- liquid diets, protein packs and shakes, drinking water every second of every day, and eventually, the pain during the aftermath (significant, but not nearly unbearable), but to know that my weight is finally on a downward turn beyond the 40-60 lbs. that I normally lose per diet. This is permanent, and it finally forces me to change many bad habits I’ve had. It’s improved my relationships within my family, as my Type 2 diabetes, slovenliness, and depression all seem to be eradicated, or close to it. I hope to live a much better, happier, healthier and fuller life over my last 20+ years, all thanks to Dr. Mailapur and his team!

5/5

Geno Scala

My surgery journey began 11/2017 and if I had to do it all over again.. I would! Dr. Malipar and his team are amazing. He knows his stuff and is honest and forthcoming when it came to my health. His staff is professional, efficient and supportive. I don’t many words other thank if you are considering changing your life for the better, than select the BEST that this profession has to offer. IJS!

#Down100 #UpForLife

5/5

Joretha

Dr. Mailapur and his staff are truly amazing! Dr. Mailapur helped me with my concerns and the people in his office made the entire process very easy to deal with. I am 3 months post and I have lost almost 80 lbs. I feel so much better than before the surgery and am very happy that I went through with it!

Years of diets and attempts at getting into shape and I finally had to admin that I needed additional help and support. This is not a miracle procedure that will just do everything for you. As Dr. Mailapur will tell you, it takes work and determination on the patient’s end but it is well worth it!

If you are thinking about making this life choice, I think you owe it to yourself to go attend one of their seminars and ask questions. I highly recommend Dr. Mailapur if you decide to go this route. You will be in good hands.

5/5

David

I had my surgery 2/19/2018 and I am so glad I did it! Dr. Mailapur was amazing! A week before surgery at my final doc appointment I told Dr. Mailapur my fears and he reassured me of everything, he even offered to sit with me for hours and talk to me if thats what I needed. After talking to friends and family that used other doctors for the same procedure its clear to me that Dr. Mailapur jumps through hoops to make sure his patients are healthy and have the best recovery possible. I can’t imagine a better doctor!! My entire experience with Dr. Mailapur and his staff was nothing shy of wonderful!!!

Years of diets and attempts at getting into shape and I finally had to admin that I needed additional help and support. This is not a miracle procedure that will just do everything for you. As Dr. Mailapur will tell you, it takes work and determination on the patient’s end but it is well worth it!

If you are thinking about making this life choice, I think you owe it to yourself to go attend one of their seminars and ask questions. I highly recommend Dr. Mailapur if you decide to go this route. You will be in good hands.

5/5

Kelsey

I started my journey at 204 and I am 5’2″. My body was quickly going down and I was so tired of being told every pain or symptom I had was caused by my weight. After years of unsuccessful dieting and exercising I came across someone who had surgery and after A LOT of research I started the process of weight loss surgery. I started this journey thinking I would be happy to get to 130 or 140 just as long as I could get my weight down to where I was happy again. To my amazement, 10 months after surgery I am now at my goal weight and I have lost 91 lbs. I shouldn’t say lost because I never want to find them again. They are gone! Dr. M is so encouraging and it makes me happy to go in there and get that high five, hug and pat on the back. There are side effects from the surgery and for some not all is sunshine but I will take the rainy parts any day just so see the rainbow at the end. And who knew I would learn to love exercising! Thank you Dr. M for changing my life!

5/5

Johnna

Dr. Mailapur and his staff have been nothing but great! You can really tell how much Dr. Mailapur truly cares for his patients. As he once told me, “Yes, I make my money from the surgery. But my satisfaction comes from your success.” I remember that I was not feeling well at all the day that I came home from the hospital and my wife had called Dr. Mailapur’s office for some guidance. Dr. Mailapur himself called me at home to make sure that I was okay and to answer any questions. What other doctor do you know that personally calls his patients and not have his staff do it? I personally recommend him to everyone that I know that is contemplating WLS or any kind of general surgery, for that matter. I cannot thank him enough for what he has already done for me and for what will come in my future.

5/5

Bronson

I am 3 weeks post gastric sleeve. I started at 242 lbs prior to surgery and am now at 209. This is a life changing surgery that I would recommend to anyone that has struggled with weight loss and obesity. I recommend Dr. Mailapur highly. His staff is very efficient as well. I am feeling great. I have more energy and so much more mobility from just this small amount of weight loss. I look forward to reaching my goal weight!

5/5

Rita H.

I had Gastric Sleeve in April 2016 and it has been the best and easiest thing I have ever done. I so wish I had done this years earlier.

I started at 229 and now today May 2017 I am 100 pounds down. !!! 129!!!!! thanks to Dr. Mailapur and all the staff for my journey.

Janice Richardson

I had my surgery April 24. It’s the best dession I could have made. I heard of Dr M through my doctors office 2 of the nurses had the sleeve with great success. I knew before I ment Dr M that I wanted him to do it. Dr M took good care of me and here I am 40 + lbs lighter. The staff is awesome I appreciate Dr M and staff awesome job.

5/5

Michele

At my wits end…dieting not working, couldn’t exercise, taking meds for hbp, cholesterol foe years. Started looking at surgical help and so glad Dr. Malipur was recommended to me. He and his team are exceptional. The process is very well explained. All aspects are discussed and the program is complete with follow up, support groups, nutritional guidance and a clear understanding that the surgery is a tool…. responsibility for the success is ultimately ours. I really liked Dr. Malipur’s approach. Thank you team. Down 31 lbs and feeling great!!!

5/5

Cindy Bunkelman

Gastric sleeve with Dr. Mailapur was the best decision I’ve ever made. Thanks to Dr. M and this tool I have my life back. I tried for years to lose weight on my own but was unsuccessful. I am 9 months out of surgery, down 82 lbs and I feel fantastic. My blood pressure is back to normal, my arthritis rarely bothers me, and best of all, I can exercise without pain. I can finally wear clothes I feel good in and shop anywhere I want. Dr. Mailapur and his staff have been helpful and supportive every step of the way. No regrets whatsoever!

5/5

Tracey Sherrill

So thankful to Dr. Mailapur and his staff during this journey of my life. I truly feel I have been given a 2nd chance @ life. From the seminar to my 2 week post op check up today, Dr. Mailapur, his staff, the nurses @ HH, and anyone in between have been supportive and answered any questions/concerns. Highly recommend Dr.Mailapur & the care that he & his team provide for this LIFE CHANGING decision. Thank you Dr. Mailapur & your great staff!

5/5

crystal haaker

I had my surgery on Nov. 9th 2016. It was the best decision I’ve ever made in my life. It has helped me mentally and physically. I can now have a normal life with my kids. I’m not longer tired all they time.

5/5

Amberly

This surgery has truly changed my life!!! I had my surgery on June 20, 2016 and have lost over 100 pounds – I am back to what I weighed when I got married 20 years ago! I was on meds for depression and high blood pressure and borderline diabetic. I hated leaving my house – going to my kids’ activities was horrifying to me, so I avoided them as much as I could and was basically missing out on life. Now, I love going out and it is so funny how many people don’t recognize me! I feel like my old self again – I’m happy, confident, in great shape and love life! Dr. Mailapur and his staff are awesome and I can’t thank them enough for helping me with this journey!!!

5/5

Mindy Kirby

Dr. Mailapur did my surgery May 22nd, 2017. Two weeks prior, he started me on my pre-surgery diet. Since then, in only five weeks, I’ve lost 35 pounds. I feel better than I have in years. I have no pain in my feet and legs. I’m walking over a mile a day. I have energy. Only three weeks post op, I am 100% confident that I made the right decision. I’m also 100% confident that if I do as instructed by the Dr., I’ll make my goals a reality!

5/5

Mark

This surgery has truly changed my life!!! I had my surgery on June 20, 2016 and have lost over 100 pounds – I am back to what I weighed when I got married 20 years ago! I was on meds for depression and high blood pressure and borderline diabetic. I hated leaving my house – going to my kids’ activities was horrifying to me, so I avoided them as much as I could and was basically missing out on life. Now, I love going out and it is so funny how many people don’t recognize me! I feel like my old self again – I’m happy, confident, in great shape and love life! Dr. Mailapur and his staff are awesome and I can’t thank them enough for helping me with this journey!!!

5/5

Mindy Kirby

Dr Mailapur and his staff is second to none. They genuinely care about your health and well being. They prepare you very well for the surgery and the regular post op visits and the accountability meetings that are available to make this process a little easier. I can’t sing this Doctors office praises enough they are TRULY the best around. Thank you so much Dr Mailapur for my tool!!:)

5/5

Very Happy Patient!!!!!!

My journey with Dr. Mailapur began by accident, but I thank God our paths crossed. I was taken to the ER in 2015 thinking I was having a heart attack; it ended up being my gallbladder. Throughout the night, discussions were made about possibly having my gallbladder removed. Dr. Mailapur’s name was suggested. My sister, an RN, was with me and began making calls to her friends who were nurses to ask their opinion. Over and over again, great things were said about Dr. Mailapur. I met him, and he was wonderful. He operated on me for the gallbladder surgery, which then led to my surgery for weight loss. I had a fatty liver and needed to lose weight. I tried to do it myself but couldn’t. A year later, I went to see Dr. Mailapur again to start the process. I am now two weeks post-op from a sleeve surgery.

I highly recommend Dr. Mailapur. He is very knowledgeable and skilled. He is professional and I love his personality. He is matter-of-fact, yet encouraging at the same time. He always greets me with a smile, handshake, hug, or a high-five. He has been attentive when I had medical concerns or questions, and answered my questions thoroughly. I cannot say enough good things about Dr. Mailapur. He is absolutely wonderful. I highly recommend him. His demeanor, work ethic, and his knowledge are outstanding. As mentioned above, I thank God our paths crossed. I do not think it was by accident; I think God was looking out for me. Dr. Mailapur is a true blessing

5/5

Patti Owen

I had my surgery on June 21, 2017. Dr. Mailapur is a wonderful, caring doctor, and his nurse (Jessica) helped me a lot with all the questions that I had prior to surgery and also with scheduling my surgery around several trips and previously scheduled commitments. I am so glad I went to that free seminar! I believe it changed my life. I was scared and excited when surgery day came, but it definitely was the right decision for me. I no longer take medications for diabetes, high blood pressure, or cholesterol! I have more energy now – I walk 3+ miles every day. I also love the in-person support group and the Facebook page for Dr. Mailapur’s patients that gives me tips, recipes, and general support and encouragement. I love my tool, and I can’t thank Dr. Mailapur enough!

5/5

Yvonne Bryant

I had my surgery on April 17, 2017. It was the best decision I’ve ever made!!! My 1st appt with Dr. Mailapur, I weight 297.5. When I came back for my 3 month check-up, I was down 60 pounds. I work out 3-4 day a week. I have so much energy now. I love my tool and Thank you so much Dr. Mailapur.

5/5

Shanita

Dr Mailapur is such a wonderful and caring surgeon. He and his staff made and make the whole process from day one a breeze. No regrets whatsoever. If you are considering weight loss surgery this is the place to go. You’ll be so glad you did.

5/5

Susan

I topped out at 321 and could not doing anything with my weight. Went to see Dr. Mailapur and have lost right at 40 pounds since my surgery on Aug. 7th. Dr. Mailapur and staff were awesome and walked me through every step. Thank you Dr. Mailapur and staff.

5/5

Tracy Perkins

I had my gastric sleeve done on May 6, 2017. I was so impressed with Dr Malipur and his staff. They were so kind and were always there to answer any questions that I had. They made me feel comfortable and not so nervous about the surgery. Dr Malipur has given me an amazing tool so that I can get back out and enjoy life with my family. I can never thank you enough Dr Malipur and your staff for all that you did for me . I am forever grateful to you and I am so happy with the new me that I am becoming !

5/5

Rejenia Liles

I would like to start off by saying how much I appreciate Dr. Malipur and his staff. They are all wonderful and work very hard for their patients. I started in very skeptical about the surgery. After spending 7 months of Dr visits with my primary physician I decided that I was not going to do the surgery. I went a final time to Dr. Malipur and told him, his response was priceless “Ok ill see you in 2 years when you cant lose the weight.” That really hit home with me as I had been trying unsuccessfully for years to lose weight. I decided to jump in and just go for it. BEST DECISION I could have made. I started out at 392lbs lost 9 before seeing Dr. Malipur so technical starting weight 383lbs. I went through all of the programs and also did the pre-surgery diet. The day of surgery I weighed in at 334lbs. I had surgery on May 24th 2017 and today November 17th 2017 I weigh 232lbs. I have 42 more lbs to lose but couldn’t be more happy with the way I look and feel. My quality of life is so much better and I am free from the restrictions of being obese.

5/5

Brandon

Dr Mailapur is an excellent surgeon! I had gastric sleeve surgery 2 weeks ago; I am a Registered Nurse so I did my homework looking for the best surgeon & I can’t say enough of how great Dr Mailapur is: I have had abdominal surgery in past for a hysterectomy & gastric sleeve was a much easier surgery I had very little pain, very little nausea & contribute this to having an excellent surgeon. Dr Mailapur & his staff makes sure you are well educated and works closely with you so you know exactly how to eat & how much to exercise & when. In 2 weeks I am off all diabetic medications & blood pressure meds. I strongly encourage anyone to consider this surgery and have Dr Mailapur to be your surgeon ! He is the best!

5/5

Vicki

I was 388 lbs and 60 years old. Life wasn’t going to last much longer. Thanks to Dr Mailapur, I may be able to watch my new grandchild grow up. He was my last hope, and I want to thank him for so much support. His professionalism and kindness was what brought me to him. He did a fantastic job, and I want to than him for everything he has done , for me. Well done, sir. You and your team , are the best. If anyone is thinking of having this surgery, Dr Mailapur is the best.

5/5

Robert D. Brock Jr.

Thanks Dr. Mailapur for being such an awesome doctor. Your staff have been helpful and supportive. I am only a few weeks out but I can already see very positive results. Thanks for all the encouragement.

5/5

Rhonda N.

I had my surgery on May 16th 2016. It was the best decision I’ve ever made!!! The 1st appt with Dr. M. was 1/21/16 weighting 241.6 pds. I was referred by my PCP. Dr. M. Is a wonderful Dr and also his staff are amazing! (Especially Jessica) she has helped me a lot with the insurance and things I needed to submit my paperwork..Dr. M gave me my life back. I reached my goal at 145 on my birthday (4/15) I have more energy, I walk 2-4 miles a day. I love my tool and I can’t thank Dr. M enough.

5/5

Sonya Hollis

I was so over weight I was truly depressed. I was on blood pressure pills, acid re flux meds and heading to cholesterol meds. I’ve been like this for 22 years enough was enough. I sought out by pass surgery but was very scared. The day of surgery Dr. Malipur came over to me and told me don’t worry I got you. Then in the room just before going under he put his hand on my forehead and said don’t worry. Four months out I’ve lost 70 lbs. This man is great. Every visit to his office he gives me a high five and lets me know I’m doing great. He is the by far one of the greatest doctors I have encountered. This was my first major surgery and was he, he had me. He is truly amazing.

5/5

Rhonda

I am 2 weeks post gastric sleeve with Dr Mailapur and down 21 lbs. I’m so thankful for Dr. Mailapur and his staff for saving my life! They were so kind and professional and put me at ease. I’m 19 yrs old and my dad is not active in my life much but Dr. Mailapur treated me like a son and I’m so thankful for that. Can’t wait for this life changing journey. I will recommend everyone seeking weight loss surgery to Dr. Mailapur. He’s the best in my book!

5/5

Max Smith

Dr. Malipur is a life changer. Not only is he a great surgeon but he’s also a wonderful person. With his guidance, I’ve been able to get off my medications and C-pap machine. I’ve also been able to be the mother I was not able to be, due to my health and condition. I am grateful to Dr. Malipur and his staff for being easy to work with and helpful in my journey to be a better version of myself.

5/5

Jennifer Gordillo

Dr. Malipur is a life changer. Not only is he a great surgeon but he’s also a wonderful person. With his guidance, I’ve been able to get off my medications and C-pap machine. I’ve also been able to be the mother I was not able to be, due to my health and condition. I am grateful to Dr. Malipur and his staff for being easy to work with and helpful in my journey to be a better version of myself.

5/5

Julie Bone

Dr. Mailapur and his staff have absolutely changed my life. At just 9 months post-op, I’ve lost over 70% of my excess weight, gone from a size 26 to a size 12-14, and I no longer take any related medications. His program supports you physically, mentally, and emotionally to give you every advantage to succeed – and it works beautifully. Dr. Mailapur truly cares about improving the lives of his patients, and I look forward to the hugs and high fives at every milestone.

5/5

Natalie

My surgery changed my life! I’ve lost right at 180 pounds from my highest weight. I reached goal weight 9 months after surgery. I have been below goal weight since 1 year post op. After losing the first 130 pounds, I began running. I have completed 4 half marathons in the past 7 months. Dr. Mailapur, his staff, and Huntsville Hospital Wellness center are amazing.

5/5

Amanda Adomatis

I’ve waited a few months post surgery to write my testimonial in an attempt to give anyone reading this the full picture. From the very first meeting Doctor Mailapur put me at ease with my decision to have weight loss surgery. Before the meeting it was should I or shouldn’t I, truth be told I was very conflicted, after leaving the meeting I was at ease and sure I was going to have the surgery. It’s not that Doc pressured anyone in the room to do the surgery, he instead presented the facts in a meaningful way that spoke to me. The next appointments and meetings leading up to my surgery were both useful and meaningful as well. Doctor Mailapur has a way of presenting facts to the point but with tact that I very much appreciate. His office staff is top notch and extremely patient. Questions/problems are resolved very quickly, most of the time within the same day. Doc and his team want you to be successful and it shows in the way they treat and accommodate their patents. This follows through with post surgery help including a bariatric support group meeting monthly. I’m about 4 months out of my surgery, I’ve lost about 85 lbs since my surgery and continue to lose. I ran my first 5k last weekend. I had a conversation with a former coworker that literally didn’t recognize me until I told him who I was 5 minutes later. My diabetes is in remission. Overall I feel great and I know that the tool that Dr. Mailapur gave me was/is/will continue to be my key to success.

5/5

Josh S.

I cannot say enough times that just speaking to Dr. Mailapur will change your life! His staff is top notch and really wants to see you living a better life.

I initially went to see Dr. Foreman at crestwood about a lapband. However his staff informed me that my insurance would never approve me for the surgery and in addition to seeing/paying for all of their specialist I would need to self pay for the entire surgery. They weren’t even willing to submit me for approval. I was depressed, I had several pre existing conditions but did not have a high BMI. I gave up on the survey idea.

6 months later I decided to see Dr. Mailapur. He told me that he could not make me any promises but that I will be happy with what his staff can do for me. His demeanor said trust me, so I did. After completeing the three months of nutrition, required by my insurance, Jessica submitted my package to Blue Cross and I was approved within three days.

On the day of my surgery Dr. Mailapur was very supportive, making sure I was informed of everything to expect including his expectations of me. The day after my surgery he was the first face I saw when I woke up.

Every visit he’s so warm, honest, motivating, and upfront. I wish he was my family doctor not just my sleeve doctor. He doesn’t do this for money, he does this so that you can have the best opportunity at health.

Going to this seminar is the best decision you can make!

5/5

Tiffany Miles

Dr. Mailapur and his staff have been nothing but great! You can really tell how much Dr. Mailapur truly cares for his patients. As he once told me, “Yes, I make my money from the surgery. But my satisfaction comes from your success.” I remember that I was not feeling well at all the day that I came home from the hospital and my wife had called Dr. Mailapur’s office for some guidance. Dr. Mailapur himself called me at home to make sure that I was okay and to answer any questions. What other doctor do you know that personally calls his patients and not have his staff do it? I personally recommend him to everyone that I know that is contemplating WLS or any kind of general surgery, for that matter. I cannot thank him enough for what he has already done for me and for what will come in my future.

5/5

Bronson

Dr Mailapur gave me my life back. I didnt realize how tired and depressed I was until I began feeling great. I am active, have tons of energy. i am no longer taking medications. The staff at MSA is amazing always kind and helpful. Jessica knows her stuff!! Dr Mailapur, thank you for your effort your amazing skill as a surgeon, but most of all your kindness and encouragement. I would recommend this to anyone struggling to lose weight. best decision Ive made.

Dr Mailapur gave me my life back. I didnt realize how tired and depressed I was until I began feeling great. I am active, have tons of energy. i am no longer taking medications. The staff at MSA is amazing always kind and helpful. Jessica knows her stuff!! Dr Mailapur, thank you for your effort your amazing skill as a surgeon, but most of all your kindness and encouragement. I would recommend this to anyone struggling to lose weight. best decision Ive made.

5/5

tracy

Dr. Mailapur and his staff have made this process so easy! They are wonderful to work with and are so helpful. I am 3 weeks out from surgery, but have been seeing them at their office since October. I have never met a doctor who genuinely cares about his patients the way that Dr. Mailapur does. My life has been forever changed and I am so thankful to be a part of the “Losers Bench” with him as my coach!

Dr Mailapur gave me my life back. I didnt realize how tired and depressed I was until I began feeling great. I am active, have tons of energy. i am no longer taking medications. The staff at MSA is amazing always kind and helpful. Jessica knows her stuff!! Dr Mailapur, thank you for your effort your amazing skill as a surgeon, but most of all your kindness and encouragement. I would recommend this to anyone struggling to lose weight. best decision Ive made.

5/5

Betsy

Dr. Mailapur a great doctor and his staff is wonderful. It’s been two months since I had my surgery and I feel great. I have recommended many of my family and friends to him. I am pleased with my results. Thank you so much! My doctor for life.

Dr Mailapur gave me my life back. I didnt realize how tired and depressed I was until I began feeling great. I am active, have tons of energy. i am no longer taking medications. The staff at MSA is amazing always kind and helpful. Jessica knows her stuff!! Dr Mailapur, thank you for your effort your amazing skill as a surgeon, but most of all your kindness and encouragement. I would recommend this to anyone struggling to lose weight. best decision Ive made.

5/5

Leasia

I can not thank Dr. Mailapur and his staff enough for all of their help and guidance through my process from beginning to today. They are very professional and very approachable and easy to talk to. I honestly don’t think I have ever had a doctor or surgeon to show they want you to truly succeed and that he cares about you. I am three weeks out today and can already feel and see the difference. I have also had friends and family to have the sleeve done and they had no follow ups or options like you do with Dr. Mailapur’s office. I highly recommend him.

Dr Mailapur gave me my life back. I didnt realize how tired and depressed I was until I began feeling great. I am active, have tons of energy. i am no longer taking medications. The staff at MSA is amazing always kind and helpful. Jessica knows her stuff!! Dr Mailapur, thank you for your effort your amazing skill as a surgeon, but most of all your kindness and encouragement. I would recommend this to anyone struggling to lose weight. best decision Ive made.

5/5

Kimberly

I was referred to Dr Mailapur by my GP, and it has forever changed my life. I am only 3 weeks out from surgery, but everyday I feel stronger and more ready to use this tool to help finally get my health under control again. Dr. Mailapur has the most amazing bedside manner. It is definitely a calling for him to help people struggling with obesity. He and his staff make that so clear that this surgery isn’t just about looking good it’s about getting and staying healthy. He and his staff and are always genuinely proud at any progress you make. I am so grateful that he has provided me with this tool.

Dr Mailapur gave me my life back. I didnt realize how tired and depressed I was until I began feeling great. I am active, have tons of energy. i am no longer taking medications. The staff at MSA is amazing always kind and helpful. Jessica knows her stuff!! Dr Mailapur, thank you for your effort your amazing skill as a surgeon, but most of all your kindness and encouragement. I would recommend this to anyone struggling to lose weight. best decision Ive made.

5/5

Megan Wilson

I had gastric sleeve surgery 7 months ago the best decision I ever made. I have lost 85% of my excess body weight and my labs where perfect when I had my 6 month check up. I feel like my success has direct relation that I have such a wonderful and caring physician. I feel like Dr. M has given me the best tool not just the actual surgery but all of the knowledge he provided me with on what I have to do to make my journey a success. I had high blood pressure, high cholesterol and my A1c was higher every time I had blood work. All of my labs are great and no more blood pressure medicine. I would recommend and have recommended to him to friends and family.

5/5

Anita Stutts

Dr. Mailapar performed my surgery on Feb 6, 2017 and I have already lost 40 pounds. I want to give a big thank you to Dr. Mailapur and staff. I was always treated professionally and the staff worked with my insurance and me to get this approved . I haven’t had any complications and feel and look better than I have in years. I would highly recommend Dr. Mailapur to anyone wanting or needing this surgery. I couldn’t be happier.

5/5

Thomas E Thompson

I am 3 months post surgery and could not be more pleased with my results. Dr. Mailapur and his staff have been very supportive throughout this life-changing event. I am feeling so much better. This is one of the best decisions I’ve made for life.

5/5

Kelly Glosson

I had surgery 9 months ago. I have lost 155lbs and almost all of my medical conditions are gone. Dr Mailapur and his staff have been nothing but helpful in this journey. I couldnt have done this without him and all of the amazing people I have met through the support groups. Than you for giving me a second change at life!

5/5

April Jones

I just want to say a huge thank you to Dr. Mailapur and his staff for always being so friendly and supportive through this major change in my life!! Thank you Dr. Mailapur for taking such good care of me and making me feel at ease throughout this process!! You are the best and I thank God for you and for having my best interest at heart!! I’ll be forever grateful for this second chance at life!! I will use this tool to its fullest!! I know that to whom much is given, much is required!! I will do all that is required to make this tool as successful as possible. I had my surgery 2 weeks ago, and I already feel amazing.

I remember signing paperwork in your office on2/9/17, and I had a complete meltdown after seeing death on every line, and your staff was there to hold my hand and assure me that everything would be fine, and that meant the world to me!! I feel like we’re family and that’s a GREAT Feeling!! So again, thank you all for EVERYTHING, and I look forward to nothing but great things from here!! Be blessed!!

5/5

Priscilla Jones

I had my gastric sleeve surgery 2 weeks ago and things could not have gone better. I’m already seeing great results, but the very best thing about this journey, so far, is the preparation Dr. Mailapur and his colleagues provide for this new way of life. From nutritionists, to therapists, to personal trainers, to support groups, I have been surrounded by a team of experts in weight loss surgery success. There were even successful weight loss surgery volunteers that came to the hospital the day I was discharged to provide one-on-one advice and encouragement. Of course, Dr Mailapur’s skill with the surgery was paramount, but his overall program gave me such confidence. I felt so well prepared to take this leap. I have a group of support people I can call on through out this process and that is priceless.

5/5

Candace Holcomb

This is one of the best decisions I’ve made for my life. Dr Mailapur is great! I would and have recommended him to my friends and family. I love that he is friendly and easy to talk to.

5/5

Lisa Gray

Today was my 18 month check up – at my GOAL weight. I’ve lost 125 lbs from my highest weight & it has changed my quality of life. I no longer take blood pressure meds, my knees don’t ache when I walk up & down stairs and most importantly I can get down on the floor and play with my grandchildren.

Dr. Mailapur asked me if I had any regrets – my only regret was that I waited so long to have it done.

I too had my doubts this would work, but if you do what Dr. Mailapur tells you to do you will be successful.

5/5

Melanie Vandiver

What can I say. Having the sleeve surgery has been the healthiest choice I have ever made for myself. After looking all over the great state of Alabama I found Dr. Mailapur. Then seeing the care that Dr. Mailapur has for all his patients to better them self. Dr. Mailapur is here to help and change lives. I was heading down a road that was going to leave me in a chair for the rest of my life. After my rheumatologist insisted that I see a Liver specialist and have the liver specialist tell me the only thing I can do is have weight lose surgery.

Dr. Mailapur has not only given me a tool to get healthy, he’s given me a second chance at life. Now I get to live life long and happy life with my family.

5/5

Will W.

Yesterday at my family doctor’s, I was told I’m down 73 pounds from my highest weight in June. My sleeve surgery was August 3, 2016, with additional surgery on the 6th. Through every step, Dr. Mailapur and his staff have been with me, helping with my major lifestyle changes. Less meds, c-pap, asthma, joint pain and increased movement are just a few concrete benefits. Greater self-confidence and quality of life are priceless. Now if only Dr. Mailapur could help with my golf game, life would be perfect. Thank you to everyone involved in my process.

5/5

Katherine Kilburn

I have been overweight all my life. In 1993 I was diagnosed with SLE (Systemic Lupus) which made doing diets a no no, high doses of steroids in the beginning. Whenever i would lose weight it was usually due to me being out of remission. My mom and 2 of her sister have had the gastric bypass done. My husband and I were tired of being overweight so we decided to do the gastric sleeve and my doctors thankfully gave me the okay to do it. My husband and I had the sleeve done on the same day, Nov 30th.

5/5

Melissa Morales

I have been overweight nearly all my life. Recently, I took a really hard look at myself with all the aches and pains and medications that I was on. I finally decided that I was not going to be like my mother who is severely overweight and suffering from all types of health ailments. I also do not want my daughter to be ashamed of me around her friends because of the weight. Each time I have dieted I ended up gaining all the weight back plus some. I had given up! Then one day I searched the internet and came across the Huntsville Hospital site and read about Dr. Mailapur. I half heartedly attended the informational meeting but once the meeting was over I was ready to go. After talking with my physician and Dr. M we decided on the sleeve. It took my insurance nearly three months to approve the surgery with a denial and then finally it came back approved after resubmitting with additional information. I am now three weeks out and have lost 13 pounds since surgery. I lost 20 pounds before the sleeve. I already feel better with the 33 pounds gone and look forward to saying goodbye to another 100 pounds. Thank you for the tool to help me with my goal. This time I am more than motivated to loose the weight!

5/5

Teresa

I had thought about weight loss surgery in the past. I have tried every diet out there, but would gain my weight back, if not more. In 2016, I had enough and actually reached out to a popular weight loss clinic in Birmingham, AL to take the first steps toward my gastric sleeve surgery. After finding the office staff less than helpful and hard to get in touch with – I started searching for another option. My co-worker suggested Dr. Ravindra Mailapur at Madison Surgical Associates. The call to Dr. Mailapur’s office was one of the best decisions I have made. Not only is Dr. Mailapur one of the most personable surgeons I have met, but his office staff is top of the line. They are easy to get a hold of, informative, professional, and always willing to help. I cannot say enough about the importance of a good office staff when someone is making the decision to have weight loss surgery. There seems to always be a question that needs answered in order to put your mind at ease and his staff always responded in a timely manner.

Dr. Mailapur has put in place a process for his patients to ensure they are given the information and tools they need to ensure the weight loss surgery her performs is effective. I had my surgery 1 1/2 weeks ago. I have had no complications and was out Christmas shopping 2 days after the surgery. I have already lost 14 pounds!

I would suggest using Dr. Mailapur and his team to anyone who is thinking about weight loss surgery.

5/5

Christy Phillips

I have been overweight for most of my life. I was a yo-yo dieter; lose weight then gain it back plus more. I know several friends who have had the surgery and had great success. I knew I needed help. I am only three weeks from surgery but I already feel better. Surgery went well with no complications at all. Dr. Mailapur and is staff are wonderful. I know I have made the right decision that will change the rest of my life.

5/5

Kelly Glosson

I have been overweight for many years and diets did not work for me. No matter what I did, I was not able to loose any weight. I had to have my thyroid removed in 2009. Since that time, I have gained 10 pounds or more each year. I felt hopeless. I was diagnosed with high blood pressure and diabetes. I was afraid of what the future held if I did not loose weight and regain control over my life. I was terrified that I would not be around. I was angry with myself because I was not the mother I wanted to be for my son. I had looked into weight loss surgery through a doctor in Birmingham but they did not take the time to answer my questions and I felt like a number to them instead of a person with real concerns. Then I found Dr. Mailapur.

Dr. Mailapur’s staff were friendly, kind and took the time to really talk to me and answer all of my questions. They responded quickly to emails and calls. I was not a number to them. I felt like they saw me for who I am and really cared about helping me. Dr. Mailapur took time to listen to me and answer my questions. He is always very reassuring and encouraging.

I had surgery on July 13, 2016. I had no complications and recovery was easy. At my three month appointment, I have lost 70 pounds. I am no longer diabetic and no longer need blood pressure medication. I feel better than I have in years. I am finally on my way to being the mother my child deserves. Thank you, Dr. Mailapur, for giving me my life back.

5/5

Kelly Glosson

I had gastric sleeve surgery April 25, 2016. This surgery completely changed my life and I would do it again if I had to. Dr. Mailapur and his staff are amazing. I can never thank them enough. I would recommend him to anyone wanting this surgery. There were ZERO complications, nothing but happiness and excitement.

Dr. Mailapur’s staff were friendly, kind and took the time to really talk to me and answer all of my questions. They responded quickly to emails and calls. I was not a number to them. I felt like they saw me for who I am and really cared about helping me. Dr. Mailapur took time to listen to me and answer my questions. He is always very reassuring and encouraging.

I had surgery on July 13, 2016. I had no complications and recovery was easy. At my three month appointment, I have lost 70 pounds. I am no longer diabetic and no longer need blood pressure medication. I feel better than I have in years. I am finally on my way to being the mother my child deserves. Thank you, Dr. Mailapur, for giving me my life back.

5/5

Michael Medley II

Dr. Mailapur is the best!! I did my surgery for selfish reasons. My Mother was obese and died from the complications of that. I was diagnosed with diabetes shortly before surgery and saw myself going down the same path as my Mother. Dr. Mailapur gave me hope and my life back. I am 4 weeks post op and have lost 34 lbs. He gave me the encouragement and tools I needed to have a healthy long life and for that I will always be grateful. Now I can actually start living life instead of just existing. Thank you Dr. Mailapur from the bottom of my heart.

5/5

Saundra Lewis

I am only three weeks post surgery from the Gastric sleeve, but I am so very thankful for the tool Dr. Mailapur has given me. Dr. Mailapur and his staff are awesome. Jessica is quick to answer my email questions, Dr. Mailapur has excellent bed side manners. Once I decided to have the surgery, after meeting Dr. Mailapur I knew he was the one to perform the surgery. If you are in doubt, call Dr. Mailapur.

5/5

Nikki

Dr. Mailapur and his staff are THE BEST! I had my Gastric Sleeve surgery two weeks ago and I could not be more happy, excited and blessed. I knew as soon as I read the reviews for Dr. M that he was my surgeon–and when I got to meet him for the first time there was no doubt. Not only is he truly the most experienced surgeon I’ve found in the state of Alabama for Gastric Surgery, but he really does care about each and every one of his patients. Everyone, from my gynecologist to random people I’ve met along this journey, say he is the best option for general or weight loss surgery–and I 100% agree. His statistics are unmatched. His technique is flawless. His bedside manner is impeccable and he knows (and will tell you) exactly what he expects of you pre-op and post-op. I was a self-pay patient so was very nervous about having any “complications” and he assured me that he would do HIS part and if I did MY part all would be OK–and it was. I’ve had VERY minimal pain (I would compare the first couple of days to feeling like I had some bruised ribs) and I’ve had no complications. If you’re on the fence about having this life-changing surgery, choose Dr. Mailapur. And for all the incredible things I can say about him, I can say a million more about his staff. Jessica, his head office nurse, is one of my favorite people. I email her at least twice a week and she’s always responded within 24 hours. They are so organized and dedicated to OUR needs! Thank you so much Dr. M and Jessica!

5/5

Brittney Burton